Quick Search  

Activity Calendar 2014

January-March
Introduction To-Accelerator-Based Techniques. w
April - June
More information on our programmes in the second Quarter of the year will be made available here soon. w
July-September
More information on our programmes in the third Quarter of the year will be made available here soon. w
October-December
More information on our programmes in the fourth Quarter of the year will be made available here soon. w

 

CERD's Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy (AAS) is now in full
operation.

_________________________________________________________________________________
CERD's Differential Thermal Analyzer (DTA) is now in full operation.
_________________________________________________________________________________
CERD's Laboratories
For enquries about our main laboratories please contact:
Accelerator - Prof. E. Obiajunwa,eobiajunwa@cerd.gov.ng, Prof. D. Pelemo,dpelemo@cerd.gov.ng
XRF - Mr. A. Eluyemi,aeluyemi@cerd.gov.ng, Mr. G. Ezeh, gcezeh@cerd.gov.ng
XRD - Ms. T. Ogundele,kogundele@cerd.gov.ng
AAS - Dr. I. Tubosun, itubosun@cerd.gov.ng, Mr. W. Makinde, wmakinde@cerd.gov.ng
UV - Mr. E. Ajenifuja, eajenifuja@cerd.gov.ng
DTA - Dr. J.Ajao, jajao@cerd.gov.ng, Mr. A. Jegede, ajegede@cerd.gov.ng
FTIR- Mr. S.Oluwagbemiga Alayande,salayande@cerd.gov.ng,Mr.J.A. Ileladewa,jaileladewa@cerd.gov.ng
Instron Machine - Mr. E. Ajoge, eajoge@cerd.gov.ng
Liquid Nitrogen Plant - Mr. E. Agbaje,eagbaje@cerd.gov.ng,Mr. O. Sanda, osanda@cerd.gov.ng

_________________________________________________________________________________

CERD Accelerator
In Operation

CERD has completed the acquisition and installation of a 1.7 MV Pelletron Tandem Accelerator. A nuclear particle accelerator is a device designed to produce a stream of ions that are directed along some path. This is typically achieved by first generating the ions, then causing them to pass througha large electrical potential difference in order to increase their energy even further.
The CERD accelerator is expected to find application in a wide range of sectors, from Health Sciences (where it can be used for Micronutrient research among others) to Agriculture, Solid Minerals, and Petroleum.In addition, with the recent global focus on issues relating to the effect of various industrial processes on the environment, It is important to note

CERD Accelerator

that the accelerator can be used for various research problems in this area.
Installation work on the Pelletron Tandem accelerator was carried out in partnership with experts from South Africa.

About Us
The Centre for Energy Research & Development (CERD), Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife started as the Nuclear (Energy) Technology Development programme in 1976 under the Department of Physics in the University. This was sequel to the declaration of the then University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife) as a Centre of Excellence in Nuclear, Energy Research and Development by the Federal Government of Nigeria.[ click here for more ]




Also See
1.7MV Pelletron Tandem Accelerator
Some of CERD's recent achievements
CERD Guest House

iThemba Laboratories, South Africa external link (external link)